Ooh a non-running related blogpost…(spoiler alert – it’s not really about mushrooms).

I really hate mushrooms as a food-type. They don’t bother me as part of biodiversity, I imagine they are useful for something – everything has its place. Mushrooms in food disgust me and I don’t really like to think of or see anyone eating mushrooms, it’s just gross to me. Maybe it shouldn’t be legal to put mushrooms in food.

What’s that? You love mushrooms and you think I’m out of order to want rid of them, it’s really none of my business what you eat and after all I don’t have to eat them?

Ah, but what if you keep putting mushrooms in food I order and try to convert me, or my (hypothetical) child sees you eating a big bowl of garlic mushrooms in a restaurant one night and wants to try them? So, you think they will either like them or not because that’s just how it is with foods like mushrooms?

I think you have a point actually. I don’t have to eat mushrooms and if you (or my hypothetical child) want to eat them it won’t cause the world to end or harm me, personally, in anyway. In fact, do you know what? Enjoy your mushrooms, I’m glad that you like them and they make you happy – watch out for the poisonous ones if you’re ever foraging, but otherwise have at it with your mushroom diet.

Mushrooms, marmite, tattoos, piercings, running (yes some people do tell us we shouldn’t do it and it’s bad for us!), equal marriage – whether you ‘like’ it or not, the fact that other people do will have absolutely no impact on you at all. It’s none of your business and it’s as inconsequential to you as whether I like mushrooms or not. Get it?

I’m celebrating equal marriage in England and Wales today, with Scotland soon to follow. Do you know what? It might actually affect me a wee bit – I might have a few more wonderful weddings to go to in the future! Let’s just start calling it marriage and not appending it with gay or equal, after all that’s what it is.

As an aside, I did a long run today and ended up ordering takeaway and guess what? Yep, my dinner had mushrooms in it; so I just didn’t eat them. I’m already over it.

Be happy, let others be happy and let us only concern ourselves with preventing actual harm instead of criminalising love.

3 thoughts on “Ooh a non-running related blogpost…(spoiler alert – it’s not really about mushrooms).

Leave a Reply

