A Tale of Two Runs

What a difference a week can make. On 5 Jan, I had a truly awesome run – great company and faster than I expected, I was middle of the pack not bringing up the rear. Oh yeah! I felt amazing!

Then ensued a stressful and sleep deprived week.  I didn’t manage any mid week runs and then had to miss the social run I was really looking forward to on the Saturday. I did get out on Sunday though and it was like my legs decided not to accompany me, I was back to being the chubby lagging behind, even though the previous week I’d been feeling strong. To be fair the run was 4.5 miles longer with an extra 200m of climbing, so it wasn’t easy by any stretch of the imagination but I still wasn’t as STRONG! Maybe it was the sleepless nights or the stress but something was different.

Guess what was still the same though?

  • the social part – running with friends is great, not to mention grabbing lunch afterwards
  • the scenery, the fresh air, the great outdoors – always my favourite place

    Running in the hills between Todholes and Kippen (I'm the yellow dot). Photo courtesy of Katherine Harrison

    Running in the hills between Todholes and Kippen (I’m the yellow dot). Photo courtesy of Katherine Harrison

  • the achievement – last week I went fast (for me), this week it was tough but I didn’t turn back or give up
  • the runner’s high – isn’t that what we all crave?

I hope I have more oomph next weekend when my run will be a 40km for 40 birthday extravaganza for two of my lovely running friends but even if my little legs aren’t on board I know I’ll still have a great time.

2 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Runs

Leave a Reply

